Golden eagle 5520 brand new stove owner questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

whosthat

Sep 27, 2011
maine
hey all im new to pellet stoves and recently I bought a summers heat from lowes and after some help from this forum I took it back as it was undersized. (even though the square footage rating said otherwise)

Anyways I have a golden eagle 5520 now and im stylin now this thing really puts out the heat and im not going to have any porblems in that department now, but I do have a few questions though.

#1 paint inside the firebox, is it for protection or looks? the reason I ask is because I think I've overfired it on the first run and caused some of the paint to peel (its still wet, stinks like hell) I'm not very worried about it.

#2 this thing has a damper on it, seems to run great anywhere I put it but I noticed the flame seems to get WAY to busy with it wide open, I've herd if it leave white in the firebox theres too much air as its running lean, is this true? and can it cause any problems?

(#3 and the most important) This thing says in the manual it has 4 heat range settings 1-4. But it has 5, and its not mentioned anywhere in the manual. I tested it on 5, and it feeds MUCH faster then 4, 4 feeds once every 5 seconds, setting 5 feeds every 2. Needless to say I have not run it on 5 very long.

The odd thing about this is theres a red LED under clear plastic for heat ranges 1-4. Heat range 5 is under the case like you not saposed to be able to see it at all, but I can still select it, see it, and use it.

Anyone out there with this stove?