Good score or a waste of time?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

zknowlto

Aug 1, 2009
Lansing, MI
Hello All:

I got this for free from a guy of CL today:

th_DSCN0264.jpg

It's about a half cord of fir that he cut down last weekend. Obviously, it still needs to be processed and won't be ready until winter 2010/11. Does this seem like a good deal to anyone, or is dealing with pine more hassle than its worth? I'm still pretty new to this, so I'm looking for honest opinions.

Thanks!

Go Blue! said:
Hello All:

th_DSCN0264.jpg

It's about a half cord of fir that he cut down last weekend. Obviously, it still needs to be processed and won't be ready until winter 2010/11. Does this seem like a good deal to anyone, or is dealing with pine more hassle than its worth? I'm still pretty new to this, so I'm looking for honest opinions.

Thanks!
get it all til you have more than enough

Looks like a great score to me! Old timers around here balk at pine but you don't always need a long burning hardwood fire.

Go for it.

You'll be glad you did.

Comes in handy for days when I am home. Others burn it 24/7.