Got a new toy - a Dewalt Planer

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

golfandwoodnut

Minister of Fire
I have been milling some Oak and Cherry for the last 2 years and people ask me what am I going to do with it? I do not have any immediate plans but I like the idea of making lumber, and if you price a piece of Oak at Lowes it can b $30 for a small board.

Well I have been eyeing planers for a long time and finally pulled the trigger, because obviously the wood is pretty rough cut with a chainsaw. I am really impressed with the Dewalt 3 blade planer. It makes a mountain of sawdust/noodles but turns my rough cut lumber into beautiful wood. It will only do 12 1/2 inches wide, any thickness of a board. The only issue is that it would be nice to be able to do wider boards, but I am sure a planer like that would cost alot.

Just wondering if any of you other guys milling have bought a planter yet? What is you experience with them?

Attachments

• dw734_1[1].jpg
    dw734_1[1].jpg
    18.7 KB · Views: 121
I have an early Ryobi planer, Works great. Use supports on both in & out feeds or build a table so the planer tables sit at the same height as the table. Blow it out when you're done and take light cuts on your final passes.