Got my 2 cords of "seasoned wood" delivered yesterday...

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

k3c4forlife

Oct 30, 2009
Title says it all. Its my first year burning so had to order my wood for this first winter (we closed on the house 2 weeks ago). Got my "seasoned" oak firewood delivered yesterday... 33% moisture reading in the center. Not going to be a fun winter fighting to get this stuff to light.

If you need to burn green wood, anyone have any tricks of the trade?

Thanks,
Kevin

Set it aside for next year or the year after and search out some drier wood. There has to be a better option than wet oak. If not, split it smaller and get your hands on some pallets or framing scrap to mix in. I wouldn't burn it unless you have absolutely no other option.

k3c4forlife said:
Title says it all. Its my first year burning so had to order my wood for this first winter (we closed on the house 2 weeks ago). Got my "seasoned" oak firewood delivered yesterday... 33% moisture reading in the center. Not going to be a fun winter fighting to get this stuff to light.

Thanks,
Kevin

how and why? One of the first of many things I learned here is if you have to have wood delivered do it during the day while you are there and pay by check. One of the more important things I learned is never pay for wood because they will most likely screw
you.