got myself in a pickle....

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

candkjewell

Aug 20, 2016
Ohio
IMG_0567.JPG IMG_0568.JPG
Let me start by saying I am a novice at best and I don't know what to do now.... I removed my Temco O clearance fireplace today expecting that I would have a Masonry fireplace behind it (HUGE MISTAKE), and I would install my Little Buck insert for more efficiency. when I got the old stove out piece by piece I was heart broken to find a plywood floor and drywall. not not sure what to do. The little buck 26000 could be used as a stove but I don't know if it will be safe to plumb it in and set it in the current hole or what I need to do. please review pictures and I would appreciate suggestions

Thanks Chris

Attachments

• IMG_0569.JPG
    IMG_0569.JPG
    131.4 KB · Views: 161
  • IMG_0570.JPG
    IMG_0570.JPG
    101.5 KB · Views: 154
Last edited by a moderator:
It's unlikely that the Buck could be connected there. The chimney pipe looks to be air cooled which would make it under-rated for wood stove use. There is also the issue of clearance requirements for the Buck, 12" to each side and 16" behind it.
Screen Shot 2016-08-20 at 4.03.50 PM.png
The clearances may be reduced with proper wall shielding and the chimney pipe will need to be replaced, but that doesn't take care of the clearances above the stove unless the alcove was opened up to the ceiling.
Screen Shot 2016-08-20 at 4.06.32 PM.png
http://www.buckstove.com/manuals/rmanuals/260027002800.pdf

Last edited: