Green Supremes vs Oakies

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

oldmountvernon

Minister of Fire
Oct 27, 2011
SE Mass
all i can say is OH MY GOD ! I have to be honest being a newbie i really deep inside said blah a pellet is a pellet.
I played around today let my hopper empty out on Quad setting with GS got 180 Degrees coming out.
I dumped in some oakies BAM 240 degrees coming out my wife opened the sliding door and a few windows yelling " you nuts ! " we were all sweating :D
I wasnt a believer in pellet stoves, then you guys got me addicted
NOW i am a believer in Premium pellets !
Even my buddy said dont screw around get the oakies ( of course i laughed and said i saved 120 per ton )
Now i understand why he said the heat will get to your bedroom just fine, The GS 180 isnt enough heat to make it all the way but im sure these oakies will

Are Hamers suppose to be as good as Oakies?

That is why you'll hear some forum members mention buying cheaper "shoulder season" pellets. When a lot of heat isn't needed, like in the fall and early spring, the cheaper pellets will work and save you some $$. Save the Oakies for the real cold winter weather.

As for the Hamers, they are on par with the Oakies, and maybe even a little hotter burning.....good pellet!

hi oldmountvernon.im in norton.whereabouts are you and where did you get the okies and hamers

As for the Hamers, they are on par with the Oakies, and maybe even a little hotter burning.....good pellet![/quote]