Greenwood 100 Issues

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

bluecap24

Oct 30, 2008
Northern IN
First off let me introduce my self. I live in Northern Indiana and have been "appointed" to take care of my fathers boiler system since I live next door. I am a mechanical engineer so I can understand how it works to a point, but I am by no means a hydronic whiz.

My brother and I installed it with the help of Greenwood as at the time we were a dealer for them. The system is heating a 1500 sqft farm house, DHW, and a garage. It has an open loop on the boiler and a closed loop on the house and garage side. We are using a plate hx. We obviously didn't have the return water protection and this thing condensed so much that it rust completely through the side panels.

Well after talking with there stellar customer service they sent out new side panel. Which got damaged in shipping. After they waited 2 weeks before they shipped them. So they sent another set, but not until 4 days later and I had to personally bash this Dave Barber guy. Naturally this set was smashed too even worse than the first. So I call and after yelling and complaining get a guy by the name of Jay. He seems to be the only one that can do anything there and actually answers his phone. Kudos for Jay. He sends out another set but of course it is Friday so they arrive Monday, this time in perfect shape. Pheww what a mess.