Had a chimney fire last night, don't want a repeat performance, any advice?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

2broke2ride

Burning Hunk
Dec 23, 2014
Townsend MA
This is my first year in my new to me house and my first year burning wood on my own. I've been burning 24/7 since mid October......... I started with a clean chimney. The stove is an old Shenandoah model r77 that I got from my father in law. The chimney is a tile lined 8" square flue. I was an going to shut down over night tonight to clean the chimney tomorrow since I had the day off and it's supposed to be in the fifties bit I didn't make it that far.
I run the pipe temp at about 400-450, I opened the door on the stove to load it for the overnight and as I was finished filling it and closed the door the chimney lit off....... Was pretty scary seeing flames 3 feet over the stack. Anyway the wood I'm burning is not great, poplar, birch, some dead maple and elm and some pine and a little black cherry. The maple, elm, birch and pine are very dry the poplar and cherry about 6 months seasoned and unfortunately the poplar makes up the bulk of what I have. Does anyone else think it is strange that the chimney got bad enough to light in only 2 and a half months? I also have religiously been using creasote powder.

Thanks for any advice
Kevin the FNG

I am probably one of the few that knows what FNG means. :)