Had my 1st ride in an ambulance, today.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

leftyscott

Apr 6, 2009
arkansas
Been having lower back pain all this week... Nothng major... didn't miss any work. I just attributed it to working extra hard last weekend hauling wood out of the back 50 acres like I've been doing every w/e for the last 2 months.

Today I wake up and am unable to stand up due to pain. Tried for 2 hours but finally had no alternative but to call an ambulance to take me to the hospital. No major damage just muscle fatigue. No bending or lifting this w/e which means my wife is in charge of fireplace maintenence.
Also, no hauling, splitting, stacking for 2 weeks. This kinda sucks b/c I have 2-3 cords worth of rounds begging to be split. I guess there's no rush as this wood is for 2011-2012 burning.

On a plus side, I have enough Valium and Oxycodone to keep me reasonably happy for the next several days.

I hope you feel better soon!

Ouch! Both figuratively and literally.

Get well soon!

What are your winters like down there??

Hope you feel better.

Jack Straw said:
What are your winters like down there??
Hope you feel better.

Winters are not too bad here. I burn most every day Nov. through March. It's rare when we get several days that the daily high temps stay below freezing.

On a side note, when I was a a kid growing up in PA, I was a huge Revolutionary War buff.
My family took a vacation up to the Saratoga battlefield. It was one of my most favorite vacations.

The ambulance is my other car. In one right now lol. Get better and no beer with those meds