hand sharpening chains?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

nacho

Aug 23, 2006
I have been cutting wood for a few years now and have been getting my chains sharpened by an old man down the road. But when I get them back they last a few cuts and dull again. He uses an elec sharpener. From what I have read on the forum many sharpen by hand using files. Are there any post on the right way to do this and what files are best to use. I am using a husq 261 20" I just bought a new oregon chain today 30.00 So i get to thinking of ways to keep it cutting like new?? Thanks for any help!

You should pick up one of the file holding jigs.

The unit I have is made by oregon I believe. It clamps to the bar and makes the file angle idiot proof. I know lots of the pro's here do it freehand, but for us novices, its hard to beat the jig.

Get the jig. Look at the package your new chain came in and they should give you the correct angles to file.

If your chain is only sharp for a couple of cuts, the angles being used are incorrect.

Yes the angles have to be wrong because I watch him while he is sharpening. He use the same angle on all chains of different sizes.