harman accentra cleaning

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

shelbylul

Jan 2, 2010
L.I. New York
Any tips or tricks to doing my yearly cleaning ? I downloaded the procedure from Harmans website, but I was wondering if that is all I need to do to set it up for next year. This is my first year so any help is appreciated. I burned 3.0 tons last winter

Thanks,

Bill

Harman Accentra insert ,8/09install

Take it outside and blow it off with compressed air if possible. I thought I had mine clean after vacuuming very good. Took it outside and put the air hose to it and you would not believe the soot that came out. I looked like Dick VanDilke in mary poppins. HTHs

This is my 1st year with a Harman accentra too. I think I am going to bite the bullet and get it cleaned by the stove shop that installed it. I wasn't home when they installed it, so I don't know what it looks like inside (except for what the brochure illustrates). I havn't even pulled it out all season. I don't know if the flue will spill all kinds of fly ash when the stove comes (unmated) out. I do plan on being home when they clean it so I can get a good feel for doing it next year.

forya said: