Harman accentra problems

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by iceman, Jan 19, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. iceman

    iceman
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,377
    Likes Received:
    9
    Loc:
    Springfield Ma (western mass)
    its full of the black stuff its not burning right have cleaned it twice ..flame looks fine but burning black not the sandy brown color using the same pellets energex
    before it was burning brown now black
    and whats the switch on the inside of the stove its not on the control panel but inside where the control panel closes to it can go up or down?? any ideas
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Souzafone

    Souzafone
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    1
    Loc:
    Freetown, Massachusetts
    The switch enables high speed for the blower fan. Have you cleaned the flue thoroughly?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  3. biggins08

    biggins08
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    Springfield MA
    Better get that sucker ready for next week Ice!
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  4. iceman

    iceman
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,377
    Likes Received:
    9
    Loc:
    Springfield Ma (western mass)
    yes i have at the begining of the season
    i have burned almost a ton so i didn't think that would be the cause .. i did however run the brush through it just in case but i didn't take it apart like i normally do
    my stove goes out into a 90 up a foot into a 90 and a horizontal run of 2-3 feet do you think that could be it??
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  5. Souzafone

    Souzafone
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    1
    Loc:
    Freetown, Massachusetts
    Is there a tee with a removable cap on the bottom?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  6. iceman

    iceman
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,377
    Likes Received:
    9
    Loc:
    Springfield Ma (western mass)
    yes why?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  7. Souzafone

    Souzafone
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    1
    Loc:
    Freetown, Massachusetts
    Did you remove it when you cleaned? You can only clean out the back of the stove up to highest level of the tee if it's never been removed and happens to be full, also removing it allows a lot of daylight in, increasing visibility in the stove while cleaning,making it easier to clean around the exhaust temp probe. If the tee is full, there is nowhere for soot to settle except higher up in the flue or back into the stove. Either way it restricts airflow, which in turn effects burning. When you clean the stove without removing the tee the soot starts depositing in the air flow right away, instead of in the tee , like a trap.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  8. iceman

    iceman
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,377
    Likes Received:
    9
    Loc:
    Springfield Ma (western mass)
    i went through it again today and can not believe the soot build up i just cleaned this thing 2 weeks ago
    but i used different tooth brushes and found that a scraper does ok but goe over everthing with the tooth brush ... cannot believe how much stuff i pulled outta there! i took apart the pipe completey no build up but thanks!
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page