Harman New vs. Used

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

gokartmike725

Nov 19, 2012
Rehoboth MA
Hello my name is mike. im new to the pellet stove world and wondering whether to buy new or used. Right now im looking at harman stoves. I can get a six year old Harman Accentra for under $2000 compared to $3600 new. or six year old Advance for under $2000 compared to $3826 new. or a XXV used 3 years as dealer running display for $2600 w/ 1 year warrantee compared to $3800 new. Please help im really not sure what to do, and as far as i know the used ones are all in perfect working order. ANy info would be loads of help!!

What size do you need? What are you trying to heat?

I have two Harman stoves, one I bought new and one used. I seldom buy new anything, buying used makes sense. I kind of like the dealer display model with the one year warranty. You know it was kept in good working condition.

Tom C.

Reactions: SteveB
What size do you need? What are you trying to heat?
Im not sure what size i will be needing im heating the top floor of a raised ranch which is around 1200 sq.ft. ...thank you for the input silverfox103. i also thought the dealer display might be a better idea.

For those price differences I would go new, especially on the Accentra, mainly because of the warranty but also those aren't good enough price breaks to NOTA get new.

Also, stay away from the XXV.

For only 1,200 sq ft, any of the above would do well....

Which do you like best, and what does your budget allow??