Harman Oakwood installation

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

nelraq

Nov 11, 2009
Coldstream, British Columbia
Hello! This is my first post. I have been heating with wood for many years; and have "been there/done that". I've run lots of different wood stoves as well as a masonary heater and an outdoor boiler. My favourite - by leaps and bounds - was the masonary heater - but couldn't take it with me when I moved!

I've been running a PE Sprectum classic for the last couple of years. It's been a pretty good stove, but recently decided to "upgrade" to a good looking 100% cast iron stove. I've narrowed the field down to the Hampton, the Oslo and the Harman Oakwood. I actually like the looks of the Harman the best, but the clearances from the stove to the backwall are much larger than the others.

Finally, my question for you folks! The listed stove to wall clearance with the factory heat shield is 13". After lots of enquiries to local inspectors/WETT certified techs, I am permitted to further reduce the clearance by building a heatshield that attaches to the wall. This will enable me to install the stove 6.5 inches from the wall.

I've noted from the Oakwood reviews and other comments that the stove releases a huge amount of heat from the back. Will this double heat shielding be adequate/safe?

I do have a couple more questions about the Oakwood, but will post them later!