1. referee38

    referee38
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    1
    Loc:
    Eastern Pa
    I just cleaned my Harman P43 and now its not operating correctly. In room temp It runs high all the time no matter where the controls are set the flame is to the top of the stove almost. I shut it down pulled the plug for a min and started it again and the same thing happens.

    I put it in room temp and on low the flame is still to high any ideas?

    Thanks,
    Ed
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Brewer

    Brewer
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    2
    Loc:
    West central ohio
    Hey ed,
    Have you tried running the stove in "stove temp" mode?
    If it works as it should in stove temp mode, i would suspect the room temp sensor.
    If it runs the same in stove temp mode as it does in room temp mode, i would look at the Exhaust Sensor Probe. ( ESP )
    There has been alot of talk here about the harman ESP lately, check out some of the threads.
    Any blinking lights?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  3. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    4,451
    Likes Received:
    771
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    Either the ESP is dirty, Did you clean it when cleaning the stove? Or perhaps you damaged it when vacuuming inside the exhaust port.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  4. Lousyweather

    Lousyweather
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    my kneejerk on this is the ESP as well, just like above, but could also be a bad potentiometer on the circuitboard. try just tapping on the room temp/stove temp knob and see if it changes...most likely the ESP tho.
     
  5. Defiant

    Defiant
    Expand Collapse
    Vermont Castings Geek

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,122
    Likes Received:
    1,446
    Loc:
    Old Lyme CT
    Check your room temp probe wires, make sure they are connected, (you might have accidentally disconnected while cleaning) if they are then esp would also be my guess.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  6. Lousyweather

    Lousyweather
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    are you getting a "blink error" on the status light? 4 blink, for example would be a room temp sensor error....
     
  7. Harman Lover 007

    Harman Lover 007
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,717
    Likes Received:
    447
    Loc:
    Eastern Mass & Lakes Region of Maine
    all good advice above...but check to be sure you installed the wingnuts and the cover under the burnpot correctly if you cleaned out where the igniter is. That will also give you a very large uncontrollable fire.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  8. referee38

    referee38
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    1
    Loc:
    Eastern Pa
    Sorry I have not been back sooner. It did happen right after I cleaned it and I was worried I might have damaged the ESP. I put it on stove temp for a while and then switched it back and it worked better. It seems now to be working correctly. Could I have touched the ESP without damaging it and that did it is what did it? I always turn the wing nuts tight after cleaning in there. It works like it supposed to now so I am a bit puzzled. Thanks for all the rep[lies. ERS
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  9. STOVEGUY11

    STOVEGUY11
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    3
    Loc:
    SOUTHERN CT
    ESP's can be a pain in the butt. Luckily they are not too much money, and are easy to replace. In the future pull the ESP out before you brush the exhaust port.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  10. roadking88

    roadking88
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    29
    Loc:
    central Maine
    that's why i dont touch my esp..i just use the vac in the blow mode and blow it out the vent..comes out nice and clean...
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  11. Lousyweather

    Lousyweather
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    meh....one screw, pull it out, then go to town with the brush!
     
    mepellet likes this.

Share This Page