1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Harman p61 blower question

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by freebird77, Nov 19, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. freebird77

    freebird77 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    282
    Hi again and once again I thank any and all for thier advice. Im wondering if the blower on my p61 is supposed to run continuousley, or shut off when the stove reaches a certain temp.? It runs all the time and I dont notice it changing from high to low, stays where I set it, low, med. or high. It seems like Im going through more pellets then I should, and Im wondering if the blower is not supposed to run all the time and that is cooling the stove down thus making it use more fuel. Can any of you good folks with Harmans fill me in? Thank you.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. MrWinkey

    MrWinkey New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    146
    Loc:
    Eastern Washington
    If your using Room Temp mode the blower will vary depending on the heat needs for the room. *If you leave it set in the mid range.* The temp probe may be in a location that is causing it to need more heat.

    Mine will turn off if I get a fan blowing the air around and it heats up the room past the set point.
  3. Kenny1

    Kenny1 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    304
    Loc:
    Eastern ON
    I run my stove in room temp mode, and the blower for the room air will vary from low to high to off (as required).

    What mode is your stove in?
  4. freebird77

    freebird77 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    282
    Thanks guys, Ive been experimenting and running it on stove temp. Does the blower only vary on room temp? And, if that is the case. if I run it on room temp, and set it at mid point, is that the only way it will vary or no matter where its set? Thank you
  5. Kenny1

    Kenny1 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    304
    Loc:
    Eastern ON
    Hmmm, not too sure about stove temp mode. I never run it in that mode.

    In room temp mode, I just sorta crank it almost to the H end, and the blower does vary in speed.

    Cheers!
  6. freebird77

    freebird77 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    282
    So, do you think in order for it to vary I have to have it set on high and then it will change according to the temp? I jus am curious as the blower runs all the time, and I wonder what this will do to my electric bill. Have any of you folks noticed a drastic increase in your bill when using your stove?
    It seems like it should shut off or drop down its speed once in a while to let the stove get hotter. Am I wrong? I appreciate the help here, . Thanks
  7. mkmh

    mkmh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    407
    Loc:
    Southern, Maine
    Nah, electricity is pretty expensive here in Southern Maine, but I really don't think the 2 stoves bump my bill more than 6 or 7 dollars per month (combined).
    Kenny posted some specifics for the P61A electric comsumption a while back (Thanks again Kenny!)

    Here they are. You'll notice the igniter is the biggest draw
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    When starting up (ignitor is on and the auger is running), the draw was 372W.

    When the ignitor stops, and the auger is running and the distribution fan is on lo, the power draw is 128W.

    With the auger is running and the distribution fan is on med, the power draw is 136W.

    With the auger is running and the distribution fan is on hi, the power draw is 152W.

    Without the auger running and the distribution fan is on lo, the power draw is 93.6W. So the auger is drawing about 35W.

    Finally, in shut down mode, the unit was drawing about 46.1W.

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page