harman p68 flames up

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

shell

Feb 1, 2013
Ohio
Hello, this is my first year with a pellet stove. It has been running fine til now, on stove temp it has never been this hot. I have it on 1 and the flames are high and on the glass and the house is too warm. It will not go to a cooler temp as before. So I turned it to stove temp to see if this would help. Now I am getting a back puffing of flames and a sound and a banging noise. Does anyone have any idea what could be wrong with the stove.

The sounds you are describing could be independent or related things. But I will start with the flame height and the low feed settings you have tried. It sounds like the stove is feeding to many pellets but it could be air flow related also. Does the auger run continuously non stop?

Hello, this is my first year with a pellet stove. It has been running fine til now, on stove temp it has never been this hot. I have it on 1 and the flames are high and on the glass and the house is too warm. It will not go to a cooler temp as before. So I turned it to stove temp to see if this would help. Now I am getting a back puffing of flames and a sound and a banging noise. Does anyone have any idea what could be wrong with the stove.

You said you were in stove temp and then switched to stove temp. Which mode are you in?