1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Harman P68 - Stove Not Running Correctly

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by bdaoust, Feb 27, 2013.

  1. bdaoust

    bdaoust Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    204
    Loc:
    Western, MA
    Hello everyone.

    I bought a house in November that had a P68 and been running it all winter with great results.

    Came home from work today and the stove was off - which I didn't think anything of since I was running in temperature mode and it was turned down.

    I turned the temp up thinking the stove would sense that it should turn on, but it didn't. I turned the feed rate to off to reset it and then turned it back on.

    The stove came on, however very few (less than 20) pellets filled the burn bot. Feed is on 3-4.

    Decided to vacuum out the stove even though it was already rather clean. Reset and still - nothing.

    I put a handful of pellets in the burnpot and those lit - but only the ones up front. And it was only an amber burn - meaning no real flame produced.

    Check to make sure the door was shut tight as well as the hopper cover - all good. However, when I did open the door, a small lame produce but went out when I closed the door.

    Verified the combustion fan was running.

    I have a full hopper of pellets.

    Thanks,
    Brian

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,060
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Try cleaning out the area around the igniter and the burn pot holes. Other things might need to be cleaned as well but start there.
  3. subsailor

    subsailor Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,439
    Loc:
    Winthrop, Maine
    Any blinking lights? Notice anything out of the ordinary? Is the temp sensor securely connected to the stove? Try running it in stove mode and see what happens.
  4. subsailor

    subsailor Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,439
    Loc:
    Winthrop, Maine
    When was the last you removed the front cover and vacuumed under the burnpot?
  5. bdaoust

    bdaoust Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    204
    Loc:
    Western, MA
    5 blinking lights. Stove temp does not make a difference.

    I clean the stove a least once a week. Today I cleaned it again and did remove ash pan and vacuumed that area well.

    Thanks!
  6. Bigjim13

    Bigjim13 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    464
    Loc:
    Central Vermont
    Yes but did you take the igniter cover off. And vacuum that area? It's a small cover held in by two wingnuts.
    SmokeyTheBear likes this.
  7. silverfox103

    silverfox103 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Messages:
    465
    Loc:
    Littleton, NH
    My first thought also is the igniter area being vacuumed. The igniter itself could be bad, also while you're cleaning do you know about the fines compartment. Facing the stove it is on the right hand side. You need to remove the cover on that side, you will see the cover held on by a wingnut. Vacuum it out.

    Tom C.
    SmokeyTheBear likes this.
  8. Harman Lover 007

    Harman Lover 007 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,237
    Loc:
    Eastern Mass & Lakes Region of Maine
    5 blinks means in didn't light automatically within 36 minutes. If it will light manually, check the fines compartment as suggested. I'll bet it's full and the slide plate can't open fully. Depending on how old the stove is the chain may have come off the auger drive. From your description, you've got a feeding problem but I would check your venting for a blockage as well.
  9. Delta-T

    Delta-T Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,097
    Loc:
    NH
    lets assume you have cleaned the igniter area well...if it only fed a few pellets, and it would light pellets you placed in the burnpot manually...I'm gonna guess some type of obstruction in the bottom of the hopper preventing pellets from feeding it at the propper rate. maybe long pellets "bridging/beaver damming". Auger turns in test?
  10. bdaoust

    bdaoust Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    204
    Loc:
    Western, MA
    First of all - you are all amazing. What a great community. Being a first time homeowner and stove owner, I've learned a lot here.

    I did clean the igniter area including taking off the plate. Didn't know about the fines area. That is to the right facing the front of the stove?

    Anyway, I did end up finding the root cause. I removed all the pellets from the hopper (it was full) vacuumed that out and a piece of plastic came up. Once that was gone - the stove worked fine again. Thanks Delta!

    This stove is getting turning me obsessive compulsive according to my family. :) My GF even stated I'm spending more time with the stove then her. Oh boy.

    Thanks again!
    -Brian
    gbreda likes this.
  11. seaken

    seaken Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    580
    Loc:
    Shokan, NY
    Just a tip. Try pouring the pellets from the bag into a metal can, and look at the pellets as you pour them and try to detect any foreign material. Then pour the pellets into the hopper from the metal can, looking again as you pour. This gives you two chances to catch anything that might gum up the works.

    Sean
  12. bdaoust

    bdaoust Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    204
    Loc:
    Western, MA
    Sean :

    Thanks for the tip and will do that. Have a great day.
    -Brian
  13. gbreda

    gbreda Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,268
    Loc:
    Lakes Region, NH
    Too much work for me. Cut the bag and dump .... but that's just me, YMMV :)

    Good job finding the issue. Best things about small issues like this is that you get to see how the stove operates and helps for future issues.

    Let us know if you have found the fines box. That needs to be cleaned periodically.

    Welcome to the forum !
    SmokeyTheBear likes this.
  14. Harman Lover 007

    Harman Lover 007 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,237
    Loc:
    Eastern Mass & Lakes Region of Maine
    YES. Take off the right side rear shield and you will see a silver wing nut and cover. Unscrew the wingnut and have the vacuum ready. If you've never done this, DO IT SOON or you will have another problem on your hands....
    Hoot23 likes this.
  15. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,060
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    The stoves are fairly simple devices and usually it is something we didn't do or didn't see while tending them that causes the problem.
    The Ds likes this.
  16. bdaoust

    bdaoust Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    204
    Loc:
    Western, MA
    Harman Lover :

    Ok - that makes sense then - meaning its located in the rear.

    I just had my stove "professionally" cleaned a few months ago because my insurance company required proof of a license person cleaning it! I watched him and remembered him taking the rear shield off. I remember the fines compartment being out of view - he had to reach up for it.
    Cheers
    Brian
  17. Xena

    Xena Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Messages:
    2,512
    Loc:
    South Shore MA
    Really? Where do you live? I ask because this is the first time I have ever heard that.

    Glad you got your stove running well again. :)
  18. bdaoust

    bdaoust Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    204
    Loc:
    Western, MA
    Yup - $175.

    I live in Western MA and insurance is through GEICO but underwritten by Narragansett Bay Insurance. I'm probably going to change policies.
  19. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,060
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    We have heard of then requiring a licensed "pro" to install and a licensed "pro" to clean them depending upon the insurance company and who filled out what for paper work, usually most only want the installation to be in accordance with installation manual or local code and are happy to have the local code inspector's signature as proof of proper installation and are more than happy to let the homeowner do the cleaning.

    I don't want to open up the so called licensed "pro" cleaning side of the zoo can of worms, we could likely find more than a few examples (including some pictures one wouldn't want to see) on here of such. I'd be looking for a different insurance company.

    I'd certainly want to know my system is clean so I clean it, maybe when I get old, feeble, and especially senile I'll let someone else do that job.
  20. TheMightyMoe

    TheMightyMoe Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    544
    Loc:
    Fairbanks, Alaska.
    I empty my fines box every ash empty / cleaning usually around 60-70 bags. It has enough fines/pellets build up to justify emptying it ever cleaning. In my opinion. Adds maybe 5-10 minutes to the total clean time.
  21. capecod

    capecod Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    72
    Loc:
    "on Cape"
    Will someone take a picture of the fines box in the back of the P68? Thanks in advance, Marina
  22. silverfox103

    silverfox103 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Messages:
    465
    Loc:
    Littleton, NH
    I just looked at there manual and there is not a real good picture. I am sure someone will have a picture. Facing the stove, remove the right cover, that's where you will find it. It's a little hard to spot, but use a flashlight. I believe it only has one wing nut. It's somewhat hidden, but you will find it. With the cover off, you have to look up a little bit.

    And as good practice, when you are working back there, shut the stove down and pull out the plug.

    Tom C.
  23. silverfox103

    silverfox103 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Messages:
    465
    Loc:
    Littleton, NH
  24. TheMightyMoe

    TheMightyMoe Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    544
    Loc:
    Fairbanks, Alaska.
    [​IMG]

    Here is a picture of mine open. Take off your right rear panel, and there is a rectangle metal lid with a wing nut. Pretty hard to miss.
  25. capecod

    capecod Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    72
    Loc:
    "on Cape"
    Thanks for the pics and descriptions, will add this to the cleaning routine.....
    marina

Share This Page