harman pellet stove auger motor

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by lougheed, Oct 27, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lougheed

    lougheed
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    michigan
    i'm having a problem with my auger motor. the light on the control panel says the power is going to the motor, but the motor isn't activating. i have: cleared all the pellets, manually turned the auger, tested the leads to the auger with resistance (there seems to be resistance).
    tonite i got a universal power supply from work and plan to quickly touch the leads to see if the motor will turn, hopefully cutting my diagnosis in 1/2 by testing the motor.

    my question is...with the auger light on could it still be a low air sensor, or other sensor that is keeping my motor from activating? if so which ones. none of my sensor lights are blinking (1-5 blinks for different problems)

    any info would be great...
     

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    13,363
    Likes Received:
    1,662
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Make certain that you disconnect the auger motor from the stoves controller before connecting the gizmo to it.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  3. kinsmanstoves

    kinsmanstoves
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,471
    Likes Received:
    499
    Loc:
    Ravenna, Ohio 44266
    How old is the stove and what model is it? is the set screw connecting it to the shaft tight?

    eric
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  4. lougheed

    lougheed
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    michigan
    harman accentra insert. the screw it tight...but the motor doesn't even engage. even the littl fan on the back of the motor doesn't kick on
     
  5. kinsmanstoves

    kinsmanstoves
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,471
    Likes Received:
    499
    Loc:
    Ravenna, Ohio 44266
    How old is the unit? Is the hopper lid, and door sealed (air switch).
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  6. lougheed

    lougheed
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    michigan
    about 5-6 years old...i was wondering about the air switch. the lid is down with no obstructions. is there any way to test the air switch? would the feeder light still come on if the air switch was deactivated? (is is before the control panel or after?)
     
  7. abrucerd

    abrucerd
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    26
    Loc:
    Central MA
    had the same problem last year, and it turned out my motor was on deaths door. If i manually spun the fan, it would go for a little bit, but as soon as the feed stopped it was unable to start itself back up again to keep pellets flowing. Had to have it replaced, which I think was in the $200 range (labor included)
     
  8. lougheed

    lougheed
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    michigan
    after putting my meter on the leads to the motor i found out there was no power to the motor, there was power on the circut board. at my dads request...thanks dad...i removed the leads from the pressure switch and put a 1" piece of wire in the two leads of the pressure switch. my motor kicked on. so to test the pressure switch was a problem...i reattached the leads and detached the 4" hose that went to my burn pot. i blew into the hose and it did not seem to be obstructed (but after getting it working i now believe it was obstructed, i just didn't notice because it didn't take much blowing to dislodge something). i took a straw and some masking tape and taped it to the pressure switch...after blowing myself silly, i sucked and my motor kicked on...therefore it wasn't the switch. fiddle with this, faddle with that, i checked all my seals and gaskets to make sure i hade a good seal on my intake, exhause, main door and hopper door. put it back together and it worked good as new. i now believe there were some fines or something in that tube that is on the pressure switch.

    thanks to everyone for all their help. even just having the confidence that i was on the right track helped.

    thanks dad...again.
     
  9. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    4,469
    Likes Received:
    772
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    hopper lid switch.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  10. Freddels

    Freddels
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    Central MA
    My Harmon Accentra is about 10 yrs old. The dealer had to replace the auger motor within the first two months of install. I've had to replace the motor two more times since then. I just do it myself. The motor costs about $120 (at least it did a few years ago) from the only Harmon dealer near me (and the most expensive dealer around too. I no longer do business with them for other reasons). Anyway, there's definitely something about the Harmon auger motor or the way they've designed the stove that just burns up these motors.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  11. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    4,469
    Likes Received:
    772
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    There is something else wrong with your stove. You either have "gummy stove" an auger scraping issue or a slide plate issue...perhaps even a full fines box. I can undetstand 1 auger replacement in the stoves lifetime...not 3.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  12. Freddels

    Freddels
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    Central MA
    They had to adjust the angle of the gears in the back b/c it was scraping. The first time, the tension on the chain was too tight and they adjusted that at the time of the first replacement. I believe there was a scraping on the second time and they did something else.

    The last time I had them come out to service the stove (last fall), the guy took off the entire piping and brought it out to his truck to clean it out. Then he had the stove apart. When it was back together, he left. The room filled with smoke and I had to call them back. Anyway, another guy came and found that the first guy had removed some chip from the board and never put it back. He couldn't figure out why the smoke was coming in the room. They wanted to charge me for a second trip out but I wouldn't agree since it was their screw up. After he left, I found that the first guy had broken the 90 degree piece coming out the back of the stove and the smoke was coming from there. He had also taken the pipe apart and didn't reseal the connections when he put it back together. I had to buy a new one and replace it myself and seal it all up. I probably won't buy another Harmon stove b/c of lack of service in the area.

    What's a fines box? Is that the little box under the firebox and igniter? If yes, then I clean that out every couple of weeks or more often if needed b/c the igniter doesn't work as well if it's not cleaned out.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  13. kinsmanstoves

    kinsmanstoves
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,471
    Likes Received:
    499
    Loc:
    Ravenna, Ohio 44266
    Is the liner/vent clear? You need to run a roda and brush through it not just guess.

    eric
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  14. Freddels

    Freddels
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    Central MA
    I'm going to assume so since the guy took it all apart last fall to clean it all out. Unless he didn't know what he was doing then either.

    I have in the past, gone up on the roof with a vacuum and stuck the hose down as far as I could. I'm going to try the leaf blower/vacuum trick this year.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  15. 3650

    3650
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    128
    Loc:
    midwest
    on the fs stove the fines box is in the back of the stove behind the right side panel (if facing front of stove). mine is a silver box with a nut in the center that holds it in place. the two sides are bent at 90° and they have to overlap the outside of the box when you put it back on. i had to wrestle with mine to get it on right, its important to get it right. if you dont know where it is, its probably full. the manual covers this.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  16. Freddels

    Freddels
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    Central MA
    Thanks. I'll take a look. It's also something they should have cleaned when I had it serviced last fall. But you never know.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  17. kinsmanstoves

    kinsmanstoves
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,471
    Likes Received:
    499
    Loc:
    Ravenna, Ohio 44266
    $5 that is your problem. It is clogged.

    eric
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  18. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    4,469
    Likes Received:
    772
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    You have a great stove but from what I gather....your dealer is not really competent. Or at least the tech you had. Seek an independent option and have your stove looked at. Unfortunately, other dealers aren't going to be so willing to help out.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  19. Freddels

    Freddels
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    Central MA
    From what I gather, Harmon sets up exclusive dealers. There's the one that's close to me (not good) and I hear there's another one in Palmer, MA, which is a bit of a distance.

    Right now, I'm waiting on the bldg inspector to inspect my St. Croix install and then maybe I'll take a look at the back of the Harmon and see what's there.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  20. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    4,469
    Likes Received:
    772
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    All due respect, you building inspector isnt qualified to troubleshoot.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  21. Freddels

    Freddels
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    Central MA
    He isn't coming to trouble shoot. I had to get a building permit for the install of my new SCF-050 and he's coming to inspect the install of that new one.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  22. kinsmanstoves

    kinsmanstoves
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,471
    Likes Received:
    499
    Loc:
    Ravenna, Ohio 44266
    You need to clean the liner by running a brush down it.

    Eric
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page