Harman PF100 5 Light Blink

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Ejectr, Dec 13, 2012.

  1. Ejectr

    Ejectr
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    54
    Loc:
    Brimfield, MA
    Got up this morning and the house felt cool. Thermostat said 65. Went to the furnace and had a 5 light blink. The manual says:


    5 Blinks:

    (In Auto Light Mode Only)
    Indicates that the igniter has failed to light the fire after 4
    consecutive 8 minute attempts. To reset - Turn the ModeSelector to off and back to automatic

    I wasn't trying to start it and the furnace has been running non stop. I have no indications of losing power overnight for it to have gone out and try to have restart. Plus there were no unburned pellets in the burn pot like it had tried to restart and failed. Did the reset and it restarted OK.

    Sometimes these pellet things are weird.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. kinsmanstoves

    kinsmanstoves
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,466
    Likes Received:
    495
    Loc:
    Ravenna, Ohio 44266
    Is the igniter working? When is the last time you cleaned the igniter? I would go there first. With no unburnt pellets in the pot something else is going on. I would do a full cleaning of the unit and the venting. Then try a relight.

    Eric
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  3. wil lanfear

    wil lanfear
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    35
    Loc:
    vermont
    My guess is that pellets aren't being fed into the burnpot because either the auger has failed or bridging of pellets preventing the feed of pellets, I've had this happen to me a few times.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  4. Ejectr

    Ejectr
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    54
    Loc:
    Brimfield, MA
    Iginiter is working fine. Once I reset the fault it started within seconds. Been running ever since. Just did a full cleaning. There was no reason for it to have quit in the first place. It never reaches 2 degrees above the set temp on the thermostat to shut off due to no need for heat.

    Must have been sun spots.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  5. Ejectr

    Ejectr
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    54
    Loc:
    Brimfield, MA
    That was my thought as well. Maybe was bridging. I've heard a few pops from the auger burning these MWP softies that I never heard from the Okies I burned all last season.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  6. kinsmanstoves

    kinsmanstoves
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,466
    Likes Received:
    495
    Loc:
    Ravenna, Ohio 44266
    Let the hopper run dry and clean it and the feed system. Sounds like it worked through.

    Eric
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  7. Ejectr

    Ejectr
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    54
    Loc:
    Brimfield, MA
    Ok Eric. I'll try that this weekend.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    kinsmanstoves likes this.

Share This Page

Entire Site copyright © 1995-2016 - email to webinfo@hearth.com
Hearth.com and HearthNet are property and trademarks of Hearth.com LLC Advertising Information