1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Harman with programmable thermostat

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by N.E S4, Feb 1, 2013.

  1. N.E S4

    N.E S4 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    I've been asking many questions trying to determine on my next stove. I visited a Harman dealer today and I like what I see.

    I understand that in room temp mode the stove will shut down and fire back up to maintain the set temp.

    My question is has anyone hook their stove to a programmable thermostat? My central air thermostat is wi-fi it would be nice to hook a Harman to this thermostat.
    Mr. Spock likes this.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. thedude110

    thedude110 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    279
    Loc:
    Central Connecticut
  3. N.E S4

    N.E S4 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Thanks for the link.

    I use a Honeywell RTH8580WF, it is millivolt, low volt, low current. It works great with a smartphone or computer. Homedepot has it for $150.00

    I guest I'll have to try it when I pick up a Harman
  4. Central NH

    Central NH New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Why install thermostat when you can just use the thermostat wire with jumpers to move Room temperature sensor to another room (8 bucks for 50' rather than 25+ for thermostat). Mine works great with walker flex tube for OAK (13.00 auto zone for 6' used 2 in basment with 2" adaptor to connect them together for $2.29 Home Depot plumbing (with rubber but didn't use rubber part just clamps) and 25' of 18-2 thermostat wire with jumpers to connect to stove and room sensor probe.
  5. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,151
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Maybe hands off, preprogrammed temperature setbacks.
  6. Kherr

    Kherr New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Loc:
    Nampa, Idaho
    My P43 is hooked up to a Skytech 3301P wireless thermometer. It comes on about 30 minutes before we arrive home after work. Toasty warm and my wife is very happy, which of course means so am I!

Share This Page