Harman with programmable thermostat

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by N.E S4, Feb 1, 2013.

  1. N.E S4

    N.E S4
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    14
    I've been asking many questions trying to determine on my next stove. I visited a Harman dealer today and I like what I see.

    I understand that in room temp mode the stove will shut down and fire back up to maintain the set temp.

    My question is has anyone hook their stove to a programmable thermostat? My central air thermostat is wi-fi it would be nice to hook a Harman to this thermostat.
     
    Mr. Spock likes this.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. thedude110

    thedude110
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    42
    Loc:
    Central Connecticut
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  3. N.E S4

    N.E S4
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    14
    Thanks for the link.

    I use a Honeywell RTH8580WF, it is millivolt, low volt, low current. It works great with a smartphone or computer. Homedepot has it for $150.00

    I guest I'll have to try it when I pick up a Harman
     
  4. Central NH

    Central NH
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    5
    Why install thermostat when you can just use the thermostat wire with jumpers to move Room temperature sensor to another room (8 bucks for 50' rather than 25+ for thermostat). Mine works great with walker flex tube for OAK (13.00 auto zone for 6' used 2 in basment with 2" adaptor to connect them together for $2.29 Home Depot plumbing (with rubber but didn't use rubber part just clamps) and 25' of 18-2 thermostat wire with jumpers to connect to stove and room sensor probe.
     
  5. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    13,363
    Likes Received:
    1,662
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Maybe hands off, preprogrammed temperature setbacks.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  6. Kherr

    Kherr
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    19
    Loc:
    Nampa, Idaho
    My P43 is hooked up to a Skytech 3301P wireless thermometer. It comes on about 30 minutes before we arrive home after work. Toasty warm and my wife is very happy, which of course means so am I!
     

Share This Page

Entire Site copyright © 1995-2016 - email to webinfo@hearth.com
Hearth.com and HearthNet are property and trademarks of Hearth.com LLC Advertising Information