1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Harman with thermostat

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by N.E S4, Feb 25, 2013.

  1. N.E S4

    N.E S4 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Does anyone here use a thermostat on their harman or do you just use the room temp on the stove?

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. lbcynya

    lbcynya Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    466
    Loc:
    W Michigan
    See my signature...
  3. silverfox103

    silverfox103 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Messages:
    464
    Loc:
    Littleton, NH
    I have a thermostat on my P68. It is a setback thermostat. I turn it back at night when we're sleeping and don't need it as warm and also during the day, I drop it a couple of degrees. It works out well.

    Tom C.
  4. abrucerd

    abrucerd Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    211
    Loc:
    Central MA
    I have a thermostat on my Harman Advance. I reduce the temperature while I'm sleeping and while everyone is at work. It's also great when I go away for the weekend... I schedule it to turn on 6 or 7 hours before I come home, and everything is nice and toasty.
  5. mascoma

    mascoma Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    326
    Loc:
    Upper Valley NH
    Am I correct that the thermostat setting does not work the same as the probe with the "room temp" dial on the stove, it just idles the stove at the temp set at the thermo?
  6. abrucerd

    abrucerd Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    211
    Loc:
    Central MA
    I think it depends on how you're using it, but I have mine set to work in conjunction with the room probe. When the thermostat is in "occupied" mode (morning wake up, and early evening/home from work), the room temp setting controls what the stove does. In this mode, the thermostat is set to 90 but the room temp is set to your ideal max temp (70s) - the stove doesn't try to get your room to 90 degrees, rather it keep temps up until it hits the room temp you've set.

    For unoccupied times (sleeping or away/at work), this is when the thermostat takes over. You set the thermostat for your ideal low temperature and the stove basically goes into shut down mode until that temperature is it. Then it fires back up for a few degrees. Then shuts down again. Rinse. Repeat. Until you wake up or come home. During this mode, the room temp setting is pretty much ignored.

    Forum user lbcyna has a much more eloquant description of exactly what's going on when you use a thermostat, as well as how your Harman works in general:
    http://www.hearth.com/talk/threads/how-your-harman-works-what-your-manual-doesnt-tell-you.91030/

    A very good read for anyone.
  7. N.E S4

    N.E S4 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    I've just picked up a used P35i will be installing it sometime in the spring. I'd like to use it with the thermostat.

Share This Page