Harman XXV or Quadrafire?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

modemgirl

May 31, 2008
Southern MA
Hi All,
I'm a newbie to this forum, from Plymouth, MA. This is a great website, lots of great info. I am looking to buy a wood pellet stove, been thinking of a Harman XXV or Quadrafire (not sure what model to consider). I would like the best value for my $. I have a large home with 2400 sq ft. Open floor plan, multi-level with 4 levels to heat. The stove would be on the bottom level (not basement) using my fireplace. I'm hoping to heat most of my home with the stove, with maybe the exception of the top level, using my oil heat on low. Any suggestions on either Harman or Quadrafire, also BTU or anything else I should consider. I would would like to make my decision within the next week or two. Thank you all for your help and time.

Krissy with an OIL hog furnace, thats going to BURN all my $$$ this winter :(

Inserts generally need a blower to get the heat out of the fireplace cavity, i.e., need electric power, otherwise they deliver about the same efficiency and BTUs. You need to shop for one of the larger units to get 2400 sqft coverage.

An insert looks more like a fancy set of glass doors on a normal fireplace, look more natural to me. Except for a very old, large stone fireplace or something similar I'd go only for an insert.