Harvesting Ash trees for lumber - need advice

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

WoodNotOil

Minister of Fire
I am a woodworker and everytime I cut down an ash tree for firewood I wonder if I couldn't be keeping the straightest parts of the trunk for lumber. My questions are:

1. What time of year should ash be harvested for lumber?
2. How do you keep it from drying out too fast and cracking/splitting?
3. What is the minimum diameter trunk I should be looking for?
4. How long should I leave the logs?

We have mostly white ash on our property. There are several local mills around me that can mill ash and I have a buddy that has a portable mill as well. Any advice on this would be helpful. Thanks for the help.

WoodNotOil said:
We have mostly white ash on our property. There are several local mills around me that can mill ash and I have a buddy that has a portable mill as well. Any advice on this would be helpful. Thanks for the help.

If you plan on selling the logs, ask your buyer those questions. The value of ash and sizes wanted has changed a lot over the years - and I'm sure much is based on the region. Ash is used for tooth picks, baseball bats and wide boards. There have been times when there was a good market for very small trees, and other times when you couldn't give them away.

Hard Maple is also getting that way now. Big demand for small trees with clear white wood.

WoodNotOil said:
This would be entirely for my own use. I am looking to have it milled into 1" rough cut and will do all the planing in my own shop.