Hearth Pad Materials - Any noncombustible confusion

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

frankendoodle

Dec 22, 2016
Portland, Oregon
Greetings, this is my first post. This is also my first wood stove, so I am a newbie in many ways.

I just purchased the Jotul F 100 and am trying to figure out what type of hearth to set up. I really do not like the look of many hearth pads I see listed for sale at my local shops and online. So I am wondering if I can get creative with the material I use. I am interested in having a single piece of steel or glass cut to fit... Can these materials be used safely?

The stove will go in a corner. The hearth will sit on a hardwood floor – and I do not want to cut out the hardwoord floor.

I know this question has been asked many times but the array of answers still has me shaking my head in confusion. Perhaps some specifics about this stove will help. Regarding floor protection, the manual states:

“The Jøtul F 100 requires one of the following forms of hearth protection:

1. Any UL, ULC or WH listed hearth board. (No bottom heat shield required).

2. Any noncombustible material with use of the bottom heat shield.”

Number two applies to me – I will be using a bottom heat shield. Therefore, I believe that means I can use an ember protector and do not require thermal protection.

The confusion here is “any noncombustible”. Can steel or glass be used in my situation?

Thank you!