Hearth wall set backs

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mariposawrick

Dec 27, 2014
Mariposa, California
Hi all. I am new to building a hearth. I have followed this website and read in the forums to get as far as I have in my planning.Thanks for all the good info. Now I am ready to build.

I am putting a hearth into a corner over a floor of 2x8 joists. The floor is built on top of a short stud wall on the sill of the poured concrete foundation for this single story building. I have several questions.

First, regarding setbacks of stove from walls, is the setback a measurement of setback from the closest combustible part of the wall or the final wall surface? I have sheetrocked wood stud walls. I plan to place metal studs over the sheetrock and fill the voids with 3 inch thick rockwool batts, then cover this with 1/2 inch cement board, then a mortar bed and slate or other stone facing. This generally follows the good example given in the articles about a finished hearth. I plan to leave air gaps at the bottom of each wall over a 2 foot span closest to the stove sides/corners. My plan is, hopefully, to be able to count the 5 inches of fire resistant material over the sheetrock wall surface and leave only 3 additional inches between the final slate surface and the metal of the stove sides/corners to achieve the 8 inch minimum setback.