Hearthstone Clydesdale.......leave it flush or set it out

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Banthony

Dec 7, 2011
West Chester, PA
Hello everyone,
I'm new to the "hearth.com" forum and I appreciate all of the great posts. I have learned a lot.

But here is my question.

I am buying a Hearthstone Clydesdale. As part of the install process I have the option of leaving it flush with the surround or allowing it to protrude out about 3 or 4 inches. One dealer told me that allowing it to protrude puts more heat into the room and another dealer said that it makes no difference. The theory the second dealer cited was that the fire doesn't burn any hotter or generate more heat as a result of the placement. He continued with his position by saying if the fan is blowing the exact same amount of heat is circulating.

What is the truth?

Thanks

How much square footage are you heating? I think it looks nicer flush and Im not sure if you get more heat if its set out a bit, someone more knowledgable can help you with that one.

I have mine sticking out as far as it will go. The more the stove is out, the more stove area is exposed directly to the room air.

Banthony said:
Hello everyone,
I'm new to the "hearth.com" forum and I appreciate all of the great posts. I have learned a lot.

But here is my question.