Hearthstone Heritage. Does a blower increase efficiency?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

rubantin

Jan 27, 2007
Does a blower increase efficiency?

Just wondering if it is worth the $200 price tag?

Right now I have a fan blowing on the stove... kind of noisy... I suppose the squirrel cage hearthstone has would be quieter and more effective.

Comments invited..

Thanks

ok... I am a science teacher... so It seems that a fan would cool the surface and encorage transfer of energy from the inside... but don't know if that makes sense...

Thanks

same thing a celing fan does, except it doenst cool the stove down and encourages more complete combustion.
there isnt much exchange to be had with soapstone stoves, they only run in the 450* range. You get better exchange on steel stoves that run in the 600-700* range. But in all cases, a celing fan is a fantastic circulator of heat.

I use a fan on my freestanding wood stove on low or about 1/3 speed and it does a very nice job of "rolling heat" off the stove and the ceiling fan take it from there. With the fan / blower on the stove there is less of a hot spot in the stove area and it distributes the heat in a better fashion.

I bought a fan blower and placed it on the floor below the back of the wood stove facing up. Not a stove model to the stove buy works just as well and my cost was $99. on ebay.

Attachments

• 1b.JPG
    1b.JPG
    33.7 KB · Views: 959
  • 2b.JPG
    2b.JPG
    35.4 KB · Views: 874