Hearthstone homestead or Jotul F400 castine

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

holysmokers

:cheese: Greetings to all, newcomer to the forum. I am happy to say that I have learned a lot here. I have been researching these two for a couple years. I'm getting ready to make my move.
The house currently has an Avalon steel hearth stove mounted on a mica hearthpad in front of a pre-fab metal, zero clearance fireplace. It has a 32' ten inch round double wall chimney with a wood framed chase on the south side (outside) wall. It also has a six inch stainless liner inside the ten inch with a cap and cleanout tee.
The house is 1700 sq ' two story with crawl space. It has lots of large windows and was very expensive to keep warm until I installed some magnetic interior windows last winter. Now the house heats up ok. This summer I'm installing a new ceiling fan above the stairs. The existing stove is 1985 vintage and needless to say not all that efficient. The house is well insulated and now fairly air tight. I want to get a new certified non-cat stove that will use less fuel with the same heat.
The draft is fairly strong, but sometimes it's hard to get a fire to stay lit once started. I have been burning one year leftover cord wood and press logs. Last year only press logs. There is not much hardwood out here in the northwest (Seattle). Mostly fir, cedar, alder and some maple.