Hearthstone Homestead

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

lazeedan

Feeling the Heat
Dec 14, 2006
SW Michigan
I am considering putting in a Homestead. I have a 1500 square ft ranch very open floor plan, with a useless fireplace right in the middle of the house. I plan to put a 6 inch liner up the 8 inch fireplace chimney. And hearth mounting this stove. We really like the look of the soapstones but I have no first hand experience with. Some people have told me I will be disapointed with the performance. Any thoughts will be appreciated.

Thanks,
Dan

Many factors affect whether this stove works well for you. What part of the country do you live in? How good is your insulation? Lots of windows?..etc. Assuming you sized the stove correctly for you situation, then regarding your question about be dissapointed by the performance, I'm guessing, of soapstone stoves in general, most soapstone owners love their stoves. They provide a gentler and steadier heat than steel or iron stoves. You need to somewhat anticipate your heating periods because you don't get immediate reponse from them. As far as being dissapointed, there is no reason for that to be the case unless you really want immediate, scorch your pants off type heat.

If your floor plan is open enough and your stove is centrally placed I think you should be fine.