Heat exchanger idea

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Yule log

Mar 5, 2008
Central Indiana
Hello everyone, this is my first time to post on this great site.
My wife and I are hoping to build a new home in the near future. I would like to build an energy efficient home that is heated primarily with wood. We currently have a Jotul Castine wood stove that heats our 1700 sq ft home. Although I like our wood stove, I am ready to be done with the dust and smoke inside the house. I am very interested in wood gasification. As I look at different systems, heat storage seems to come up as great way to increase efficiency of gasifier units. I am interested in building non-presurized heat storage space into our next home.
Since I am always trying to find ways to save a buck when possible, I have been pondering economical ways to build heat exchangers. Although various forms of exchangers have been mentioned on this site, I have not seen anything on automotive radiators used as exchangers. Is there a reason for this? I would like to build a box type of tank and a large, truck type brass and copper radiator would fit crosswise in the tank. The Radiator Barn has 1980s Ford 460 truck radiators for $170. I would think that the large finned surface area of a truck radiator would work well as an exchanger. Any thoughts?

Welcome to the forum and to the boiler room.

I think that an automotive radiator would work fine. I have two concerns: