Heat output vs pellet size/length

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Rooscooter

Nov 30, 2010
Spokane, WA
I've been reading a lot of posts regarding heat output for each type/brand of pellet out there and wanted to add my experience to the discussion.

I've been burning pellets for over 10 years and have noticed that the heat output of my stoves varies depending on what pellet is used (duh). I used to think this is just the difference in pellet brands, however recently I had some extra time on my hands and decided to test and see what difference there is in the brands that I have stored for this winter.

This year I had 4 tons of pellets delivered and stored for my 2 Bosca Spirit 500 stoves. 1 ton is Atlas Ultra Premium Red Fir, 1 ton is North Idaho Energy Premium and the other 2 are Westwood Premium (which are re-branded Okanagan Pellets from B.C.). All of these brands are softwood pellets and are considered the best available in our area.

Using a thermometer (procedure similar to one I saw on this forum) I tested each pellet in a clean stove one bag at a time. I tested heat, ash and time it took to burn the entire bag. I used the 3rd highest of the 4 settings on my stove for the test. Here's what I got:

Westwood Premium: 265° and 12hr 18 min burn time (second lowest ash no clinkers)
North Idaho Pellets: 252° and 13hr 53 min burn time (lowest ash by far no clinkers)
Atlas Ultra Premium: 248° and 13hr 22 min burn time (highest ash no clinkers)