Heatmaster G200 or P&M Optimizer 250

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm not familiar with the Heatmaster, but P & M is a great design.

I have a Heatmaster G200. This is my first season and have been burning for just over a month. I don't think that you could go wrong with either but I was sold on the Heatmaster for a few reasons. One was the fact that the P&M is known to have some issues related to the nozzle. They may have gotten them figured out by now but I know that people were having to replace them sometimes as often as once per season. Another issue people had with the nozzles was plugging up. Other then that people seemed to be happy but they were about $2000 more than the G200 which got much higher BTU output for lengths of burn and was much cleaner in the EPA tests. I have been Extremely happy with my G200 so far. I have burned about 1 cord in the month and a week that I have been burning. It really sips on wood. The heat exchangers and turbulators are connected to a rod that you lever back and forth when you load it which brushes any ash off the heat exchanger. Seems to work very well, I took a look up above where the turbulators exit and had a dusting of ash up there, not enough to clean out after a cord of wood. I raked out the ash from the reaction chamber and got three spade shovel fulls of ash. I had to remove no ash from the burn box, it has about 2 inchs of ash up there. Super easy to run, spread the coals out across the bottom before loading, throw the biggest piece right over the nozzle then add 3-4 more splits 6-8 inches in diameter around that