Hello...I'm new to pellet stoves and this forum and need some help

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Mar2012

Jan 5, 2015
Indiana
I purchased a Harman P68 in February 2014. In late March, we noticed a very horrible smell coming from the outside exhaust and even smelled it briefly in the house. We also had a black tar substance inside the stove. We talked to the dealer and he said it had to be moisture in the pellets. Before the start of this winter we had them come out and clean and inspect it, and again he stated it had to be the pellets. He instructed us to burn it real high for awhile to burn off the tar. We are now having the exact same problem. No matter how high I crank it, the tar just keeps coming back. We are using Somerset pellets-the only brand I've seen in my area, Northwest Indiana. I know next to nothing about pellet stoves, but this just doesn't seem right. Does it seem like moisture in the pellets could cause this? Or, could it be an installation issue or a setting that they have done incorrectly on the air flow? Thanks in advance for any help!

More likely an air flow issue. It would help if u described your setup for venting.

thanks, reallyte, I figured that would come. With my lack of knowledge and proper terminology, would a picture help explain this?

image.jpg
Very green is very accurate. :) I did read the manual today, but felt like I was reading a foreign language! Sorry that I couldn't get it rotated, but let's start with this.