HELP! Baseboard Heat Problem

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Wise Guy

Oct 12, 2013
Talmage, Pennsylvania
I need help resolving an issue with baseboard heat. I am not an expert in baseboard heat, so my terms may be inappropriate or wrong. I'll try to be as accurate as possible.

The problem is quite simple. I am not getting heat where I am supposed to have heat. I have a two story farm house that has a single continuous line of baseboard heat. In other words, there is only one zone for the whole house, not two or more zones. Of course, the fins on the pipe don't extend throughout the entire house, but instead are in short sections in each room, but I need to be clear, there is a single continuous line of water that extends throughout the house. Here's the problem. When the boiler kicks on, I get hot water to every section on the first floor except for two, the kitchen and the living room. On the second floor, I get hot water to every section except for one bedroom. I have gone throughout the house to open the manual bleeder valves. At first I got a lot of air, but now all I get is water. I can't figure out why I am getting water from the bleeder valve, but when the heat comes on I don't get hot water. Again, when I open the bleeder valve in each room, I get only water, but for some reason I am not getting hot water to these three sections. Any suggestions? Thanks in advance for your help.

Are the sections without heat on the end of the run?