Help calculating how much it costs to run a small fan.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

MeLikeUmFire

Sep 17, 2009
Lapeer, Michigan
I am not good at math so i figure i could pic some of your electrician minds. We have gotten into the habit of turning on a small fan for our daughter to have some white noise while she sleeps. i am wondering how to compute how much it costs to run the thing? Its a small fan..it says on the fan its 60hz.....8 amp...prob runs 12 hrs a day. I know it depends on how much i pay for my electric...can anyone give me an equation?

at 120vac, 8 amps is 0.96kW, times 12 hours/day is 11.52kWH/day, multiply that by your average cost per kwh to see how much it costs you each day.

so:

kwhprice * 11.52 = daily cost

make sure you consider all the costs, not just generation, transmission, tax, etc (for me its $0.176)

So you get 120v*8 amps = 960watts/1000 = 0.96kw*12h = 11.52kwh/day*$0.176=$2.02

BUT a fan that runs at 120v 8 amps is HUGE... thats bigger than my whole house fan.... Maybe you ment 0.8 amps? that would be more reasonable, and just 20 cents per day... .

just put it inperspective, and get $/ year.... even at 0.8 amps for 12 hours is still $70/ year....

voltage x amps = watts.

watts x time = watt hours

watt hours / 1000 = kilowatt hours

that is how you are billed.

ah yeah good point, 8 amps isn't a "small" fan by any means :D

I think the ampere rating is 0.8 amp. The OP tried to bold the decimal point, but I didn't notice it at first.