1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

help, englander 25 puf is backing up!

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by gossipninja, Dec 31, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gossipninja

    gossipninja New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Loc:
    ohio
    Just bought an englander (summers heat) 25-puf and for some reason it isnt burning the pellets completely and as a result, they build up in the burn pot and will back up into the chute. My brother let it burn that way and now there is some scorching near the pellet chute mouth. I have cleaned everything out and it still does not burn the pellets completely, they look charred but still look like pellets. I think my brother messed with the 3 buttons on the bottom of the controls and as such, that could be the problem. My unit was manufactured 12/07. Also, what is the correct orientation of those metal pieces next to the burn pot, the flat squares with the posts in the center? do they face post up or post down into the ashpan? They got knocked around during shipping and I want to make sure they are oriented correctly. I have them post up currently. Tried calling englander but i guess they are off for the holidays, hoping to catch one of them on here.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. stoveguy2esw

    stoveguy2esw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    5,990
    Loc:
    madison hgts. va
    the ash dump covers should be positioned so that the holes are completely covered, the air deflector under the fire pot should be oriented so the square cutout in the plate is toward the front of the stove , and the firepot itself must be pushed all the way back flat against the back wall of the cradle
  3. gossipninja

    gossipninja New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Loc:
    ohio
    thanks for the fast reply mike! also what is are the defaults for the "3 buttons" as i said I think my brother messed with them, unit made 12/07
  4. stoveguy2esw

    stoveguy2esw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    5,990
    Loc:
    madison hgts. va
    defaults for that unit are 1-5-1 left to right, unless you are at high altitude or have a longer than normal intake run , in which case i'd experiment with going higher with the low burn air, ive run some up to 9 before to correct for outside of normal hookups. keep me informed if you are still having problems
  5. kah9911

    kah9911 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Loc:
    SE- PA
    I am having the same problem and after talking to the factory last year I am already at 1-9-1. Even at low settings (1/3 and 2/4) I have to tend it and stir the fire pot hourly. On higher setting the frequency increases quite a bit. It seems worse than last year and I have only been burning for a week now.
  6. cyclegems

    cyclegems New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Loc:
    Northern Arizona
    I am having the same problem with my 49-trc22 (burning wood pellets) ash build up quickly and have to constantly tend to it. Mine is a new unit and i've only burned about 6 bags through it. HELP!
  7. Panhandler

    Panhandler Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    607
    Loc:
    WV Northern Panhandle
    Incomplete burning of pellets is usually too much fuel or not enough air. They kind of go together. I had a similar problem last year. Make sure your 3 button settings are correct and there are no restrictions in your outside air. Check the "screen" outside. It can be cleaned with a wire brush and/or stiff toothbrush. Last season my 3 buttons got hit accidentlly and this caused soot to clog my intake. Same thing, charred pellets instead of burnt ones.
  8. stelynn

    stelynn New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Loc:
    ottawa
    Is there supposed to be an adjustable plate on top of the auger on these stoves? 55shp240. The reason I am asking is I also experience the same issues.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page