Help getting a general idea for prices and what i need

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

FQPVR6

Sep 15, 2009
Greater Boston
Hello all,
I am a newbie to the forum and live in the greater Boston area. I am familiar with wood burning furnaces as growing up in Europe i got to see more than one. For instance my uncle has a Kob(see picture below) ECO 65 (Austrian made) with lambda oxygen sensor control and separate 1100 gal of storage tanks to heat up his large house and indoor pool. The think works like a champ.

Anyhow i was looking at the BIOHEATusa website and looked at the different systems that are available. My home (~2800sq ft and forced hot water system) is currently heated with an older oil burner but when i replace it in the near future i would like to either switch to pallets or wood. I would like to get a rough idea of the cost estimate if I were to go with pellets or go with wood. However, if you provide an estimate with respect to wood I would want to have a storage tank system (which i do not think is necessary with pallets) to maximize efficiency and minimize smoke. I am not too sure what kind of permits and strict regulations MA may have with respect to burning wood. Anyhow, i would use the cost estimate you provide to determine cost amortization schedules and draw my decision from there.
I was also reading a posting where someone provided a link to the Froling webpage and i took a look at their system. They looked really nice. WHat is the cost of that system for a medium size home both wood or pallet?