Help! Im new to wood burning and dont know if Im doing it right

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
New owner of a Jotul Rockland C550 insert. I have a center hall colonial that is about 1800 sq ft. Insert in the LR. LR has two entrances that face center hall. One entrance faces the Kitchen, the other the DR. DR has the house thermostat. After burning for several hours this evening the thermostat only went from 55 degrees to 60 degrees. Im confused. Ive been reading so many people have their houses at 70+. I also slide the air control back about half way after the fire really gets going. Am I doing something wrong? I would appreciate any advice.

Do you have a thermometer? Its the speedometer of wood burning. Also where did you get your wood? I bet its a little harder in the city ares then out here in the sticks to come across.

I dont have a thermometer, but since its an Insert, where would I put the thermometer anyway. As far as the wood goes, there are place to get the wood. I found a place last spring. I went there and saw the wood wasnt really too dry, but when I went back a couple of months later, I really saw a difference in the color of the wood.
I had 2 cords delivered at the beginning of July and it was out there this whole 90+ summer. You can see a lot of the splits are that silvery color.