help installing my pellet fireplace insert

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

woodtopellets

Feb 10, 2009
buffalo,ny
Hello all, I just bought a used Lopi foxfire insert for my fireplace. I am new to the pellet stove so I have a few questions.

1. My fireplace has a heatilator in it. Do I need any special piping to get around the damper, or can I just remove the damper.

2. Do I need to vent to the top of the original masonary chimney or can I go part of the way up.

I will take any help I can get with this. I would like to install it on my own , but want to learn a bit about it first. Unfortunetly I do not have any model # for the stove yet, But it is a Lope Foxfire. Appr a 1995.

woodtopellets said:
Hello all, I just bought a used Lopi foxfire insert for my fireplace. I am new to the pellet stove so I have a few questions.

1. My fireplace has a heatilator in it. Do I need any special piping to get around the damper, or can I just remove the damper.

You may want to do a forum search for "pellet stove in a heatilator" because I'm
not positive, but think I recall reading that you can't install a stove in one.
Again, do a forum search and I'm sure you will find pertinent info.
G'luck!

I dont think that I have an actual heatilator. I just have 4 vents through the masonry on the outside of the firebox, that pull the cold air in from the bottom and radiate the warm air out the top. I thought it was a heatilator but was told that it is not. I guess I dont know the technical name of it. I was trying to find a picture to post but couldnt find one.