Help interpreting gpm on Alpha pump

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

hiker88

Burning Hunk
Aug 3, 2011
Central Maine
Hi everyone,

I'm reluctant to ask this question because I will
a) look like a total noob
b) be asked for follow up information that I won't know how to provide that will make me look like a total noob

Anyway, here goes...

I mentioned in a previous post that I plumbed my system according to the square tank schematic at woodboilers.com. I went from my old taco pump which was mounted directly to the return port of my boiler to an alpha pump which is basically located right before my zone valves.

The Alpha pump is set in auto mode and as I understand it, it basically strives to maintain zero pressure differential - so when a valve opens it runs and will deliver what it takes to equalize things.

When only my first floor zone calls for heat, the read out displays about 2 gpm and about 9-10 watts. If the second floor of my house calls for heat, the wattage stays about the same, but it says 0 gpm. The upstairs seems to heat normally. The above happens whether I am running on oil or wood.

I can put the pump into high and move 4 gpm at about 45 watts through either floor.