Help me advise a friend on what to look for buying a stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

xman23

Minister of Fire
Oct 7, 2008
Lackawaxen PA
Guys, I'm a veteran cord wood burner / hearth member. But I know nothing about pellet stoves. As we all do when non burning friends are over the thing they all want to know, is what's involved in heating with wood. I can't tell you how many people I got into burning. So last night a single woman friend ours was over, and we discussed reducing her propane bill this year. No way can she deal with cord wood so I think to way to go is a pellet stove. She works 3, 12 hour days. As far as I know pellet stoves can be run from a thermostat. Maybe even programmable one. I know there is a bin for pellets, but not much more.

So what are the key features she should look for when buying one of these stoves. If you can suggest a brand that has a lot of bang for the buck, that would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you Brothers.

Guys, I'm a veteran cord wood burner / hearth member. But I know nothing about pellet stoves. As we all do when non burning friends are over the thing they all want to know, is what's involved in heating with wood. I can't tell you how many people I got into burning. So last night a single woman friend ours was over, and we discussed reducing her propane bill this year. No way can she deal with cord wood so I think to way to go is a pellet stove. She works 3, 12 hour days. As far as I know pellet stoves can be run from a thermostat. Maybe even programmable one. I know there is a bin for pellets, but not much more.