Help me turn off my Vermont Castings fireplace! Ack!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

MiamiBeach

May 11, 2008
sunny Florida
Newbie here. Builder installed -- in a new tiny summer cabin -- Vermont Castings ExtremeView 33XDV gas fireplace. It's converted to propane. No remote control or remote wall switch is installed - operates via thermostat. No fan is installed. Unit works fine.

We want to turn unit off for winter. The manual tells us to turn the gas knob to Off. (The biggest knob in photo below.) Nothing happens. Pilot is still going the next morning. There is nothing in the manual about turning the pilot light knob. We call dealer. He can barely remember the setup and tells us to turn the pilot light to Off, says it will stop the gas flow by doing that. He doesn't know anything about the gas knob. (!) Dealer insists this is what manual says to do, but it doesn't. (And cheat sheet attached to the unit itself also doesn't say this.) We call CFM and of course they are out of business and return you to the dealer. For the time being, we've left the pilot on and everything running as usual.

My questions: 1) If turning the gas knob to Off doesn't do anything, does that mean it's incorrectly installed? 2) If turning the pilot light knob to Off turns the fireplace off, why doesn't the manual SAY that? 3) Should I turn that gas knob to Off anyway, when I turn off the pilot light?

Any help is greatly appreciated!
Ruth

Attachments

• 33xdv.JPG
    33xdv.JPG
    27.8 KB · Views: 1,349
  • 33xdv2.JPG
    33xdv2.JPG
    27.7 KB · Views: 1,146