Help me understand a bit more before I buy a gasifier

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

dirttracker

Aug 22, 2008
S. Wisconsin
I have been using an OWB for the last 5 years. Over the last heating season, the unit developed a slow leak and after further inspection needs to be replaced. This leaves me with the choice of either replacing it with another OWB (I’ll probably go with Central as at least they are likely to be in business in 5 years) or going with a gasifier. I have been pouring over this site over the last couple of weeks and have learned quite a bit thanks to those who have shared their knowledge and experiences. However, I need to ask a few more questions to guide my decision.