Help! New Harman Accentra has a noisy auger and a low rumble noise

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Matt715

Nov 5, 2008
Wisconsin
Hi everyone, I am new to Pellet Stoves and I recently purchased a Harman Accentra freestanding stove and the feed auger seems to bind up every once in a while. I have had the stove for about a month now and burned maybe 15 bags though it. I had a tech come out and check it out and he said it was due to me not cleaning it enough and burning it hot enough. So far I have been running it on room temp at 65-70 degrees with a feed rate of 2-3. At the time the service guy came out I had burned about 5 bags of Hardwood pellets so I thought I would just need to do a better job of cleaning the burn pot by the auger. He did notice that the slide in the bottom of the hopper was very sticky and worked a while to free it up a bit. He tested it out and said everything sounds/looks normal and about a half bag later the auger started to make a banging noise and hesitate again. I took the stove apart and spun the auger with the chain off and found it was binding when the outer end of the auger in the burn pot came around to the bottom of the pot and would get stuck on parts of pellets and the tiny bit of carbon build up that was there. So, I really cleaned the burn pot/auger and made sure it spun freely and also took apart the hopper slide and made it slide very freely- the bushing was very misaligned. The other thing I noticed is that after I clean the pot/auger out the auger drive motor is pretty quiet but as I get about half way though a bag it gets noti