Help picking new stove/furnace...

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mu1166

Dec 14, 2007
Algona, Iowa
Just found this forum and I am a newbie when it comes to burning wood. When I was growing up all we had was wood heat. I just purchased my own place at it has a old Monarch wood stove in the basement. The stove is still in good condition but my burn times with red elm and ash are only 3.5 hours... I am looking to maybe go with a wood furnace route? What is everyone's opinion? I need all the help that I can get.

Here is a brief description on my place. It is a true brick home built in 1930. It is well insulated. The stove sits in the basement on the south edge of place (my chimmney is located here). the natural gas furnace is on the other side of the basement in a seperate room. There is a old air return and ductwork directly overhead where the existing stove sits. The house is relatively small being 600 sq ft in the basement, 990 on the first floor and 550 on the upper level.

I have a good supply of seasoned wood, and have been cutting and splitting for the last 2 months for next year (mostly red elm and ash with a little oak mixed in). I want to use the new stove/furnace as mostly supplemental heat to help lower the cost of my heating bill.

The look of the stove isn't to important because of where it is going to be located. would a wood furnace or a wood stove be better suited for my purpose??

thanks for all your help.