help please.I am new to wood stoves.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

disneygal922

Oct 1, 2014
kittredge, co
Hi everyone. We just moved to Colorado and our rental has a wood stove as the primary heat source with no instruction manual. I have never actually used a wood stove, only the fireplace in the home where I grew up. I have a few questions that are really dumb. How do I know if the flue is open and how do i open it? What do these knobby things do? The nights are starting to get chilly and I don't want a $400 electric bill be cause I have been using the electric heaters in each room. I have attached a photo to this post.... I think. :) thank you all very much.
20141001_210711.jpg
Here is another photo.
20141001_210649.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
Welcome. That is an 80's model Sierra 1000.

Moving the thread to the classic stove room where folks can help ya.

Reactions: stoveguy2esw
The knobs control the air entering the stove. When they are closed,no air. When they are open, air. They are used to control the burn, heat output. You should have the chimney cleaned before burning!

Thank you. I believe our landlord had it cleaned before we moved in but I will double check with him. Any idea about the flue? Wood stoves do have flues right?

As 240 says the first thing is to make sure you start with a clean chimney. And with dry wood. How is the wood supply?