Help please - with Buck stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Blowin smoke

Dec 16, 2013
Gibsonburg ohio
Hi. I bought a house with what I think is a buck stove model 27000? It doesn't say anywhere. I am a total noob to wood burning. My question is does this thing just use a lot of wood or am I doing something wrong? I can load it up and it will be gone in 2 hours. I have to reload it 3 to 4 times a night. I tried shutting the slots in the doors some but it either puts the fire out or does little to nothing to stop the usage. Am I supposed to shut the dampher all the way to the last notch and if so will that make my home and all our clothes smell like smoke. Thanks for understanding what I'm sure to youall is a simple question.

Actually, those are not simple questions! Wood burning is an art and a science and there are dozens of factors which can have an effect on your heat, smoke and everything else....

That's why we have thousands of questions and answers, articles...and millions of forum posts!

The first thing you must do is figure out if your stove is installed properly, your wood dry, your chimney in good shape and high enough, etc......because the operation of a stove depends on these things and more. Rather than go through them one by one in this thread, take some time to search around the site and forum and find out if you are deficient in some areas.

Here is the total site search:
https://www.hearth.com/econtent/index.php/articles/sitesearch

Here are some articles on chimneys and on basics of installation:
https://www.hearth.com/what/specific.php