Help! Replacing my Vermont Casting ZC Winter Warm Large Fireplace!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

jshrewsbury304

Feb 18, 2017
Morgantown WV
Hello All,

I'm looking for some guidance. I've been visiting this site and these forums for two years now, basically since I moved into my new house with a fireplace. I haven't quite found a situation like mine so here it goes.

Two years ago I moved into a house with a Vermont Castings WinterWarm Large Zero Clearance Fireplace. The stove is 12 years old, the same age as the house. The previous owner(s) have misused this unit and in its current condition it absolutely eats the wood, extremely inefficient. I'm seeing burn times of 2-4 hours using maple & oak with a moisture content of 20% or less. I've replaced various parts and gaskets but things are so warped that a ton of air leaks into the unit and she runs wide open. Therefore, it is getting replaced.

I'm sure I'll need to answer some questions but here is some information in advance.

Budget - Do not currently have one, however, the ultimate goal is to eventually recoop the cost of the stove versus using propane. Propane is very expensive currently.

Stove Location - The current stove is located on the main floor of the house in the living room, the master bedroom is on the opposite wall behind the stove.

Wood Available - I own 2 acres, 1.5 wooded, and I am surrounded by woods available for clearing. The primary wood I have access to is Ash, Oak, Maple, and Cherry.

Climate/Weather - Northern WV (4 Seasons)

Burn Time - I'm looking for 8+ hours.