Help with a few ?'

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Dustin M

Oct 19, 2013
Nc
Hello to all. I am living in my grandpas old house and using his old wood stove for primary soure of heat from now on. I have a question , do all or some stoves not have firebrick? Mine does not, although it has shelves shelves halfway up both sides, though badly bent.

Since I am new to burning wood constantly I need my stove to be in top producing shape.

Should/could I add firebrick to be more benificial? And does anyone know what kind of stove this is? Looks like a big bear knock off perhaps.

Thank you to those who help.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    218.3 KB · Views: 194
I gave the pic a little turn for you. Dunno about the make. It sure looks like a home grown version to me. The air drafts are made from what appears to be 3" cast pipe caps. Could you snap some pics of inside?
image.jpg

I am also going to slip this over to the classic form. The stove is a few steps away from EPA compliant.

I am almost positive that the unit in your pics is a homegrown variety. There were many years in the 70's and 80' that every metal fab shop in the country was pushing out a few custom units to employees and friends. That being said - it is really hard to tell if that had firebrick or not. There are also a few other implications if my guess holds true.